Great News for Fans of Oprah & Short Fiction

uwem

Today Oprah Winfrey announced the newest selection for her book club and we at One Story breathed a happy sigh. Though the book club has been going on for several years now and made many a writer a household name, this is the first time a collection of short stories was chosen, and the lucky author is Uwem Akpan, for his acclaimed book Say You’re One of Them, already the winner of a Commonwealth Writer’s Prize and a PEN/Beyond Margins Award. Coming at a time when the big houses balk at publishing collections–especially by new voices–this is an exciting announcement and we only hope that the welcome exposure Akpan and his book get from Oprah will make for a few more fans of short fiction.

Oprah’s site has plenty of great info and some brief selections for those curious about the book but readers with access to the New Yorker archive can also find the full text of his first published story in that magazine here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *